Isaac’s MRI

The Weather Channel just showed a picture of Hurricane Isaac and likened it to an MRI, circling the eye of the storm the way an MS lesion would be circled. So, here I am writing about Hurricane Isaac, Multiple Sclerosis and stress. Isaac has me very stressed. My son just moved to New Orleans Wednesday to start his freshman year of college. At midnight he will be in lock-down in his dorm. From what I am hearing, they will most likely lose power and there will be flooding. I’ve been glued to the TV all day, checking email and facebook for updates from the university and receiving and making necessary phone calls. He is hundreds of miles away. Piling on top of this is the fact that my son is fighting his own immune system and has been dealing with horrible symptoms. He has Rheumatoid Arthritis. The day before he left he struggled to pick up a glass. Stormy weather for him is what stormy weather is for me- horrible. All my symptoms return or worsen. He has debilitating pain and muscle weakness. He takes multiple medications to fight his disease, two of them suppress his immune system. He is sick and coughing and that worries me because it’s easy for his body to develop an infection, especially now that he won’t have access to doctors and medicine. This stress has my body numb and my muscles tight. It also has me thinking about how MS is like a hurricane, even when you know they are coming, they never let you know what they’re going to do once they have fully arrived and they always leave damage behind.

One thought on “Isaac’s MRI

Leave a Reply

